Experimenting social media

how an addict looks like 🙂

Alright, after the seminar we had yesterday at the Uni with Matthew Eltringham from BBC I tried to get to know social media better. I think it can help you a lot in finding new stories, although going out on the streets is always better. However, this Tweetdeck is pretty smart and concise and I’m hoping to bring me some good stuff, because it’s pretty damn hard to start over with no connections in a new city. (e.g. Sheffield – for me)

On the other hand, I just think social media (including here the most famous twitter and facebook ) can eat you alive. I mean, there is so little of you and your true life left in the world. We could practically breathe the virtual air and nobody would bother. I love internet, it helps me a lot and gives me reasons to be happy, but what about the real stuff..that palpable thing that you believe in. It’s not superficial, it’s just that sometimes I miss the peace of a day in which I wouldn’t feel the need to go online.

Whatever, it could be just the late hour. I got two links to share:

1. First of all it’s a blog post about the guy from BBC. It’s on Christine Cawthorne’s website. (she teaches us, web students)
http://www.crocstar.com/2010/10/live-blog-with-matt-eltringham-from-the-bbc/

2. Secondly, it’s the trailer for a great movie about the inventor(s) of Facebook (this gigantic souls thief 😀 )

About iulia
Internet, news & movie junkie. Freelance journalist and digital intern. Went to Sheffield Uni. I am a fan of long walks, secluded beaches, airports, dogs and football, urban photography, sad movies and eye-opening books, street art, cities, London, Salitos and the seaside, driving and technology. Usually a blue face, but I always smile on sunny days :)

One Response to Experimenting social media

  1. Kevin Franks says:

    Does the internet really gives you reasons to be happy? I mean in what way? Likes on fb, that kind of stuff?

    P.S: BTW i would like to get to know you better, i find you verry atractive. Sorry if i offended you in any way by bringing this up, it’s just i really like your looks and style.

    Hope you reply, hugs

Leave a Reply

